Cart 0

New Reissue | Eumir Deodato / Os Catedráticos - Ataque [1965]

Eumir Deodato Os Cadetraticos Ataque 1965

One of Brazil’s most prolific artists, Eumir Deodato has racked up 16 platinum albums, won a Grammy (and been nominated for two more), and sold over 250 million records in the USA alone. After moving from Rio de Janeiro to New York in the late 60’s, Deodato would work as a composer, arranger, producer and keyboardist on nearing 500 records, under his own name and with the likes of Aretha Franklin, Earth Wind & Fire, Frank Sinatra, Kool & The Gang, George Benson, Tom Jobim and Bjork, to name a just a few.

But before that, a young Deodato had already cemented his status in Brazil as one of the country’s top musical minds. In the mid-sixties, when he wasn’t working with the likes of Roberto Menescal, Joao Donato, and Marcos Valle, Deodato recorded a string of albums with his lesser known instrumental samba jazz and bossa nova ensemble Os Catedráticos.

A masterpiece of hip Brazilian swing, Ataque reflects the deeper, groovier side of that magical, hazy sound of sixties Rio, with monster samba grooves backing big brass arrangements and scorching organ solos. Amongst Deodato’s own tracks, there are compositions by Marcos & Paulo Sergio Valle, Baden Powell and Luiz Bonfa, arranged for a big horn section, which includes trombone player Edson Maciel, and given an extra dose of cool from the inimitable drums of Wilson Das Neves and Ruebens Bassini on percussion.

An elusive long player in the cannon of killer, groovy Brazilian music, with vinyl copies near impossible to find for less than three digits, Ataque finally gets the official Far Out reissue treatment: re-mastered from the tapes and pressed to 180g vinyl. Now available for the first time outside of South America.

Release date: 7th December 2018 (Originally 1965)
Digital orders for MP3s and WAVs will be fulfilled immediately (release date 26th October 2018) 

Pre-order vinyl LP, CD and digital below. Also available on Bandcamp

A1. Ataque
A2. Os Grilos
A3. É Bom Parar…
A4. Feitinha P'ro Poeta
A5. Terra De Ninguém
A6. Razão De Viver
B1. Tristeza
B2. Samba Do Dom Natural
B3. O Sol Nascera (A Sorrir)
B4. Samba De Rei
B5. Até De Cavaquinho
B6. Porque Somos Iguais

Eumir Deodato – Leader, Arrangements & Conductor
Maurílio Santos – Trumpet
Walter Rosa – Tenor Sax
Aurino Ferreira – Baritone Sax
Edson Maciel – Trombone
Ruebens Bassini – Congas & Pandeiro
Humberto Garin – Guiro
Jorginho Arena – Congas
Sergio Barroso – Baixos
Wilson Das Neves – Drums
Geraldinho Vespar - Guitar

Older Post Newer Post

  • atuaviya on – Buy Amoxicillin Online Amoxicillin Without Prescription

  • iqaropwamazac on – Buy Amoxicillin Online Amoxicillin 500mg

  • iwihoraquj on – Amoxicillin Without Prescription Amoxicillin 500mg Capsules

  • udikusef on – Amoxicillin 500mg Capsules Amoxicillin Without Prescription

  • okipeza on – Amoxicillin 500 Mg Amoxil

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published