Cart 0
Emilio Santiago | Emilio Santiago [1975]

Emilio Santiago | Emilio Santiago [1975]


Release date: 27th July 2018

Also available on Bandcamp


A1. Bananeira (Gilberto Gil, João Donato)
A2. Quero Alegria (Guilherme de Brito, Nelson Cavaquinho)
A3. Porque Somos Iguais (Pedro Camargo, Durval Ferreira)
A4. Batendo a Porta (Paulo César Pinheiro, João Nogueira)
A5. Depois (Otávio Daher, Ivan Lins)
B1. Brother (Jorge Ben)
B2. La Mulata (Paulo Sergio Valle, Marcos Valle)
B3. Nega Dina (Zé Keti)
B4. Doa a Quem Doer (Ivan Lins)
B5. Sessão Das Dez (Édson Lobo, Tita, Renato Rocha)

Far Out Recordings proudly presents the 1975 self-titled debut album from Brazilian vocalist and bossa nova luminary Emilio Santiago. Nicknamed ‘the Nat King Cole of Brazil’, Santiago was a master bossa balladeer and a top-class crooner. But he is known equally for his Brazilian funk, soul and boogie classics. One of his best know is album opener ‘Bananeira’, a party-starting version of the song originally written by Joao Donato and Gilberto Gil. ‘Brother’ is a smooth-grooving killer with great horn arrangements and a huge backing choir, while ‘La Mulata’ is a soulful, swinging salsa stepper.

Originally released on the CID label, the album showcases the full range of Emilio’s talents, while paying homage to some of Brazil’s greatest composers, including Jorge Ben, Marcos and Sergio Valle and Ivan Lins among others. 

The credits on the album are a ‘who’s who’ of Brazil’s greats, with João Donato on keys, Wilson das Neves, Ivan ‘Mamão’ Conti and Paulinho on drums, Durval Ferreira, Carlos Roberto Rocha and Helio Delmiro on guitar, Ariovaldo, Orlandivo, and Chacal on percussion, Danilo Caymmi on flute, a brass section featuring Victor Assis Brasil, Edson Maciel and Jesse Sadoc, and backing vocals from Jaime and Nair, Lúcia Lins, Jurema and Marcio Lott.

Share this Product

You may also like