Cart 0
Itiberê Orquestra Família - Pedra Do Espia [2001]

Itiberê Orquestra Família - Pedra Do Espia [2001]


Release date: 23rd November 2018

Also available on Bandcamp

Itiberê Zwarg is an award-winning Brazilian bassist and the longest-serving member of Hermeto Pascoal’s ground-breaking ensemble ‘O Grupo’. Since their first meeting in 1977, the two have been closely collaborating to create a unique musical language: a genre-defying polyharmonic, polyrhythmic music, now widely studied by musicians and musicologists alike, known as ‘Universal Music’.

Back in 1999, Itiberê led a workshop at Villa Lobos School of Music, with twenty-nine of Rio de Janeiro’s most exceptionally talented young musicians. Employing the principles of Universal Music alongside his long-held belief in the powers of listening and intuition, over the course of many months, with regular intensive 7 hour rehearsal sessions, Itiberê composed and arranged in real time, transcribing the improvisations of the prodigious orchestra while allowing the players freedom to experiment. The result was Pedra do Espia, an Amazonian orchestral masterpiece which is as difficult to categorise as it is fun to listen to.

Named after the beachside viewing point which translates as ‘Spy’s Rock’, where Itiberê would sit as a child, daydreaming and gazing out over the Brazilian coast, the record harnesses the pure creativity of youth and nature, creating a magical sense of innocence amongst the striking compositions and astonishing musicianship.

On the original liner notes from the 2001 CD release, Itiberê guarantees the record to be “surprising in its uniqueness, it’s harmonic richness, it’s exuberant melodies and rhythmic variations like nothing heard before.” Bringing the album to vinyl for the first time, alongside a full 16 track CD and digital release, Far Out Recordings are honoured to present this overlooked masterpiece from one of the greatest minds in Brazilian instrumental music.


A1. Na Carioca
A2. 17 De Janeiro
A3. Forro no Encontro dos Rios
A4. No Varál
A5. Vale de Luz
B1. Bota Para Quebrar
B2. Doce
B3. Muito Natural
B4. Ao Pé da Lareira

CD 1:
1. Na Carioca
2. Bota Para Quebrar
3. De Coração Aberto
4. Forró No Encontro Dos Rios
5. Curupira
6. Arco-iris de Som
7. No Varal
8. Toada Cigana

CD 2:
1. Doce
2. Vale de Luz
3. De Repente
4. Muito Natural
5. Ao Pé Da Lareira
6. Hora Da Prece
7. 17 de Janeiro
8. Pedra Do Espia

Share this Product

You may also like