Cart 0
Victor Assis Brasil - Toca Antonio Carlos Jobim [1970]

Victor Assis Brasil - Toca Antonio Carlos Jobim [1970]


1. Só Tinha De Ser Com Você
2. Wave
3. Bonita
4. Dindi

The CD is a double album release, containing both Esperanto and Toca Antonio Carlos Jobim, as well as two bonus tracks: previously unreleased alternative versions of ‘Marilia’ and ‘Ao Amigo Quartin’.

CD and Digital Tracklist: 
  from Esperanto 
1. Ginger Bread Boy 
2. Children 
3. Marilia 
4. Quarenta Graus A Sombra 
5. Ao Amigo Quartin 
  from Toca Antonio Carlos Jobim 
6. So Tinha De Ser Com Voce 
7. Wave 
8. Bonita 
9. Dindi 
  bonus unreleased tracks (unedited) 
10. Marilia (alternative take) 
11. Ao Amigo Quartin (alternative take)

Unlike Jose Mauro, whose biography is almost completely shrouded in mystery, Victor Assis Brasil’s tragically short life is a better known story. He passed away aged just thirty-five, but by this point his status was already cemented as one of Brazil’s top players. Gifted his first saxophone by his aunt at the age of fourteen, his debut LP was recorded just four years later, alongside some mercurial greats of Brazilian jazz, Tenorio Jr and Edson Lobo. Following the release of his first two albums, Victor was granted a place to study at Berklee College of Music, and it was during this period he recorded toca antonio carlos jobim upon returning to Brazil in the summer of 1970. At a time in Brazil when the smooth n’ easy groove of the bossa beat no longer reflected the inflamed politics of a nation under the cosh of military dictatorship, Victor Assis Brasil morphed Jobim’s soothing originals into raw, deep jazz cuts, with the help of Brazilian legends Edison Lobo, Helio Delmiro and Edison Machado. The album’s influences spans both American continents, finding a meeting point for Latin jazz and North American post-bop, with Roberto Quartin’s perfectionist approach to sound elevating the already incandescent music to divine new heights.

Also available on Bandcamp

Share this Product

You may also like