Cart 0
Agustin Pereyra Lucena - La Rana [1980]

Agustin Pereyra Lucena - La Rana [1980]


Vinyl shipping: 25th October 2021

Release date: 15th October 2021 (originally released 1980) | Also available on Bandcamp

1. 3 Horas Da Manha (Ivan Lins, Waldemar Correia)
2. Samba Do Aviao (Antonio Carlos Jobim)
3. Tema Medieval (Agustin Pereyra Lucena)
4. Despues De Las Seis (Agustin Pereyra Lucena, Guillermo Reuter)
5. Tema Barroco (Guillermo Reuter)
6. La Rana (João Donato)
7. Pra Que Chorar (Baden Powell)
8. Encuentro De Sombras (Agustin Pereyra Lucena)

Far Out Recordings proudly presents Argentinian guitarist Agustín Pereyra Lucena’s 1980 album La Rana. Recorded in Oslo, La Rana features Agustín’s stunning takes on compositions by Ivan Lins, Antonio Carlos Jobim and Agustín’s friend and musical hero Baden Powell. In addition to these, and a number of Agustín’s own compositions including the fifteen-minute masterpiece “Encuentro De Sombras”, the album’s title track is an idiosyncratic version of Joao Donato’s “A Rã” (Eng: The Frog/ Esp: La Rana) from his 1973 album Quem É Quem.

Forming the rest of the quartet are two fellow Argentinians who were also Agustin’s bandmates from the group Candeias: bassist and multi-instrumentalist Guillermo Reuter and flautist Ruben Izarrualde; with Norwegian drummer Finn Sletten on drums and percussion.

Throughout La Rana we hear not only Agustín’s fabled guitar playing, which ascended him to share stages with the likes of Vinicius de Moraes, Dorival Caymmi, Toquinho, Maria Bethania, Chico Buarque and Quarteto Em Cy, but also his talent as a vocalist. He also provided the heartening illustration for the cover art, which perfectly fits the cordial, inviting tone of the music. Inspired in equal measure by South American rhythms and Norwegian glaciers, mountains and waterfalls, La Rana is filled with the warmth, humility and sincerity of a man seizing a joyful moment in life through music.

Share this Product

You may also like