Cart 0
Arthur Verocai - Encore [2007]

Arthur Verocai - Encore [2007]


***Click here for the 10th anniversary vinyl and CD reissue***

1. Tupa Tupi
2. Amor Na Contra Mão
3. Sucuri
4. Abertura
5. Bis feat Azymuth
6. Dona Dos Meninas feat Azymuth
7. Filhos feat Ivan Lins
8. Tudo De Bom
9. Eu Quero Paz feat Azymuth
10. Caminho Da Roça
11. Preludio

Featuring 11 compositions from Arthur with guest musicians including Azymuth, Ivan Lins and a nine-piece string section, ‘Encore’ is the highly anticipated follow up to Arthur’s eponymous debut album from 1972 (!). It sees Arthur joining the dots over 35 years to create a new classic of Brazilian music that, like his debut, combines Brazilian influences with his take on American soul and cinematic experimentation, and shows Arthur’s sound is as poignant now as it was in the 70s.

Following on from Marcos Valle, Joyce and of course Azymuth, Arthur Verocai is the latest in a long-line of Brazilian musicians whose music is set to be introduced to a whole new legion of fans by Far Out. The story of ‘Encore’ of course begins with Joe Davis, Far Out’s head honcho who stumbled upon Arthur’s debut in a dusty record store in downtown Rio in the late 80s. At the time of its release in 1972 critics panned Arthur’s debut and both the album and artist subsequently vanished into obscurity. Fast forward to winter 2004 and Joe’s at the studio of Far Out Recording artists Harmonic 33 – aka production duo Mark ‘Troubleman’ Pritchard and Dave Brinkworth – playing them some of his favourite Brazilian albums. Dave recalls the moment Joe put on Arthur’s debut, “As soon as the needle hit the record and we heard the fantastic arrangements, songs and sounds, Arthur completely blew our minds”.

Three months later and Dave was in Brazil with Arthur Verocai, and the plans for what was to become ‘Encore’ were being laid down. Produced by Dave, ‘Encore’ sees Arthur on incredible form, the 35 plus years between the recording of his debut and this the follow-up just melting away as Arthur picks up the (conductor’s) baton once again to create 11 epic tracks of stirring samba-soul and experimental cinematic movements that sees him creating a record to rival his debut.

Opening track ‘Tupa Tupi’ kicks proceedings off in suitable widescreen style as a trio of male vocalists ride over soaring strings and warm horns. ‘Amor Na Contra Mão’, is a perky bossa whilst tracks three and four, ‘Sucuri’ and ‘Abertura’ respectively, hark back to the experimental nature of Arthur’s acclaimed debut CD; ‘Sucuri’ features some abstract Rhodes playing from Azymuth’s Bertrami whilst ‘Abertura’ is a beautiful string-led interlude. Things then get spiced up with ‘Bis’, a clubby-Brazilian-samba that was a big radio hit earlier this year. The rest of the album doesn’t disappoint with experimental-cinematic instrumental and vocal pieces such as ‘Donas das Meninas’ and ‘Filhas’, the latter featuring the celebrated Ivan Lins on vocals, appearing between more classic US soul and funk influenced grooves such as ‘Tudo de Bom’ and ‘Eu Quero Paz’, to create a modern interpretation of late 60s/70s classic ‘cinematic’ samba that will appeal to fans of Marcos Valle and Azymuth.

Share this Product

You may also like