Cart 0
Azymuth  - Azimuth

Azymuth - Azimuth


1. Linha Do Horizonte
2. Melo Dos Dois Bicudos
3. Brazil
4. Seems like this
5. Caca A Raposa
6. Estrada Dos Deuses
7. Wait For My Turn
8. Montreal City
9. Morning
10. Periscopio

Disc 2 (Deluxe Edition Only):

11. Melô Dos Dois Bicudos (Harmonic 313 Remix)
12. Wait For My Turn (Spiritual South Remix)
13. Linha do Horizonte (Beatnik Remix)
14. Montreal City (Volcov Remix)
15. Estrada dos Deuses (Recloose Remix)
16. Seems Like This (As One Remix)
17. Periscópio (Marc Mac for 4hero Remix)
18. Morning (Peanut Butter Wolf Remix)
19. Caça a Raposa (DJ Venom Remix)
20. Linha do Horizonte (Kashmeer Brothers Remix)
21. Wait For My Turn (Yam Who Remix)

Released in summer 1975, the album was a minor commercial success selling 200,000 copies. Opening track ‘Linha do Horizonte’ – a sublime piece of melancholic electronic saudade where deep cinematic synths melt into gently strummed acoustic jazz guitar - was chosen for a TV Novella and went on to sell half a million, propelling Azymuth onto the Brazilian music scene.

The rest of the album doesn't disappoint – track 2, ‘Melô dos dois bicudos’, sees Azymuth plugging them into the Brazilian national grid for a slice of electrified psyched out samba funk with crashing military drums, shrieking sirens and psych synths. Track 3 ‘Brazil’ is a lolloping bass led groover with Bertrami’s melody giving the track a charming, innocent naivety, and track 5 ‘Caça A Raposa’ is a boogie jazz funk groover with Bertrami adding a Flora Purim style vocal melody.

Azymuth went on to become one of the best-selling jazz artists of the 80s with their future albums for Milestones, unquestionably the biggest jazz label of that decade. ‘Azimuth’ is the album that kickstarted it all for them, the record that was the blue print and definition of their ‘samba doido / crazy samba’ sound.

Share this Product

You may also like