Cart 0
Democustico - Democustico [2006]

Democustico - Democustico [2006]


1. Summer of Flora
2. Grito
3. Vaga-Lume
4. A Sereia
5. O Sonho
6. Rejoycing
7. Paz
8. Nunca Never
9. Pera
10. Brasil
11. A Viagem
12. Grito (Seiji's East-Mental Dub)
13. Grito (Seiji's East-Mental Vocal)

Fusing Brazilian samba and folk with Indian vibes, London beats and the phattest global breaks and noises ‘Democustico’ is a contemporary world musical odyssey - imagine Milton Nascimento jamming with the Thievery Corporation and you’re on the right track.

Whilst individual tracks combine many different styles - the bhangra and bossa of ‘Grito’, folk and trip-hop of ‘Nunca Never’ and 60s sitar-funk & samba of ‘Vaga-Lume’, ‘Democustico’ is much more than the sum of its parts. The different styles combine symbiotically to produce a coherent world musical fusion with Gabriela Geluda’s mellifluous vocals joining the dots from Brazil to London via India.

With fans as diverse as world music guru Andy Kershaw (Radio 3), leftfield jazz cat Gilles Peterson and electronic-ambassador Laurent Garnier (Radio Nova) ‘Democustico’ follows on from a series of critically acclaimed single releases: ‘Brazil’, ‘A Sereia’, and ‘Vaga-Lume’ (as featured on Gilles Peterson’s recent ‘Back to Brazil’ Compilation) and will appeal to fans of downbeat/lounge as well as nu-jazz and nu-Brazil. With it’s eclectic sound ‘Democustico’ looks set to follow in the steps of other recent contemporary Far Out crossover CDs such as Sabrina Malheiros’ ‘Equilibria’ and Troubleman’s ‘Time Out Of Mind’.

Share this Product

You may also like