Cart 0
Joyce, Naná Vasconcelos, Mauricio Maestro - Visions of Dawn [2009]

Joyce, Naná Vasconcelos, Mauricio Maestro - Visions of Dawn [2009]


Release date: 9th November 2018

1. Banana 
2. Clareana
3. Metralhadeira
4. Nacional Kid
5. Tudo Bonito
6. Suite: Part 1 - Memórias do Porvir / Suite: Part 2 - Visões do Amanhecer
7. Suite: Part 3 - Carnavalzinho
8. Jardim dos Deuses
9. Chegada

Recorded in Paris, in 1976, Visions of Dawn is the stunning ‘lost’ Brazilian acid-folk album by Joyce, Nana Vasconcelos and Mauricio Maestro.

First uncovered and released in 2009, the record transfixed Brazilian music lovers and fans of otherworldly psych-folk alike. Led by the sharp lyrics and gorgeous, voice of a young Joyce Moreno, the trio is completed by the late great Brazilian percussion legend Nana Vasconcelos, and master arranger, producer and bassist Mauricio Maestro.

These beautiful recordings offer a unique opportunity to sit in on the original sessions of tracks that would later become Brazilian cult-classics, like swinging samba-jazz opener 'Banana' and 'Clareana', a lullaby named after Joyce's daughters Clara and Ana. The trippiest moments come from 'Jardim Dos Deuces' (one of Frank Ocean's favourite tracks of all time) and the orgasmic album closer 'Chegeda'.

Having been out of print for years, Visions of Dawn is getting a much deserved vinyl repress. When the album was last repressed a few years ago, it sold out immediately. So be sure to pre-order to avoid missing out this time!

Also available on Bandcamp

Share this Product

You may also like