Cart 0
Various Artists - Kenny Dope Presents Brazilika [2004]

Various Artists - Kenny Dope Presents Brazilika [2004]

1. The Ipanemas - 'Sertao'
2. Grupo Batuque - 'Taruma'
3. Paulo Moura - 'Fibra'
4. Friends From Rio 2 - 'Escravos Do Jo'
5. Friends From Rio 2 - 'Sob O Mar'
6. Friends From Rio 2 - 'Zona Sul'
7. Da Lata - 'Ponteio'
8. Marcos Valle - 'Fundo Falso'
9. The Ipanemas - 'Icari'
10. Percussion Breakdown - 'Percussion Breakdown'
11. Democustico - 'A Sereia'
12. Mamond - 'Pregiciman'
13. Chris and Nina - 'Agua'
14. Sabrina Malheiros - 'Estacao Verao' (Kenny Dope Remix)
15. Los Ladrones - 'Las Luces Del Norte'
16. 4hero Natures Plan ft. Ed Motta - 'Without Words' (Kenny Dope Remix)
17. Friends From Rio 2 - 'Vera Cruz'
18. Grupo Batuque - 'Torcida De Flamengo'
19. Marcos Valle - 'Apaixonada Por Voce'
20. Azymuth - 'Sunderley Samba'

Alongside Kenny’s two slamming remixes of Sabrina Malheiros’ ‘Estacao Verao’ and Nature's Plan ft Ed Motta’s ‘Without Words’, (both exclusive to this comp), Kenny has selected his personal favourite Far Out tracks. He’s dug deep in the vaults choosing tracks that represent the full gamut of Far Out’s diverse catalogue – classic sambas and bossas from the likes of Marcos Valle, The Ipanemas and the Friends From Rio, as well as the cream of nu-brazilian electronica from the likes of Sabrina Malheiros, Nina & Chris and Da Lata, to create a mix that works both at home and on the dancefloor.

Seminal cuts that defined the sound of the label at the time of its inception 10 years ago such as Da Lata’s ‘Ponteio’ and Friends From Rio 2’s ‘Escravos De Jo’, are blended easily into more recent offerings such as Mamond’s dancefloor stormer ‘Pregiciman’ and Nina and Chris’s lauded house-samba ‘Agua’ as Kenny cuts between genres, chopping and changing styles yet keeping the flow at all time.  Almost-forgotten album tracks such as Grupo Batuque's ‘Taruma’ (from ‘Africa Brazil’) and ‘Zona Sul’, from Friends From Rio 2 sound as fresh as the day they were recorded and cuts from the Far Out ‘Brazilian Love Affair’ compilation series such as Paulo Loura’s jazzy shaker ‘Fibra’ and the late 90s club smash ‘Las Luces Del Norte’ from Los Ladrones all add to the diversity of the mix, reflecting a catalogue of over 40 albums and 12s respectively – a combined total of nearly 1000 tracks and counting. You’ve probably already heard the massive Dope remix of Sabrina Malheiros’ ‘Estacao Verao’ which has been ripping up dancefloors worldwide – a summer track to die for, with Sabrina (the daughter of Azymuth bassist Alex) contributing the vocal to a laid-back stunner with the real bossa bounce that you’ve got to expect from a lady with that pedigree. Kenny’s also put his magic touch on an all-new mix of Natures Plan’s ‘Without Words’, which features the vocal talents of Brazilian superstar Ed Motta and Kenny signs off ‘Brazilika’ with Azymuth’s ‘Sunderley Samba’ (originally from ‘Pieces Of Ipanema’) – an irrepressible reminder of the legends’ 30th year in the music industry.

Share this Product

You may also like