Cart 0
Raf Vilar - Studies in Bossa [2011]

Raf Vilar - Studies in Bossa [2011]


1. Por um amor qualquer
2. Bossa me
3. Sem Ter voce
4. Imaginar voce
5. Le com cre
6. So no ar
7. Perfeito
8. Entao ve
9. Eu sei
10. Amargo amor
11. Solidao
12. Lullaby

Recorded with musician friends in London the relaxed atmosphere allowed Vilar’s beautifully unhurried songs to flourish. Producer and bossa nova enthusiast August Jacobsen, best known as Hunsley & Guz and resident DJ at some of London’s biggest clubs such as Fabric and The Egg, provided the electronic elements especially present in ‘Solidão’, which mixes synthesizers with the accordion. That zestful quirky edge comes out through the album with the sounds of toys, books, keys and coins in the pocket blending perfectly with more traditional instrumentation.

‘Studies in Bossa’ draws on many of the singer-songwriter’s influences; as diverse as Jewel and Tom Waits’ folk; samba from Noel Rosa; and original bossa nova from João Gilberto and Chico Buarque. Raf’s love of jazz came from his uncle Ivan Conti who is the drummer for Far Out legends’ Azymuth, hence his eventual link to the label.

Share this Product

You may also like