Cart 0
Grupo Batuque - O Tempo do Samba [2005]

Grupo Batuque - O Tempo do Samba [2005]


1. Bom Pra Kalimba
2. Cavasamba Um (Edit)
3. Nação Tupi
4. Voz do Afro Black (Edit)
5. Afro Black
6. O Temp do Samba Um (Edit)
7. Ida e Volta
8. O Tempo do Samba Dois (Edit)
9. Batucada Maneira
10. Cavasamba Dois (Edit)
11. Jaconé
12. Africas (Edit)
13. Maracutaia
14. O Tempo Do Samba Tres (Edit)
15. Saldação
16. O Tempo do Voz (Edit)
17. Mãe Lemanjá
18. O Tempo

The core of the album was written by Ivan Conti who as one third of Azymuth and a regular Far Out contributor, needs no introduction. He was helped by infamous percussionist Cidinho Moreira who has previously perfomed with the likes of Stevie Wonder and Paul Simon as well as the crème de la crème of Brazilian artists and who on ‘O Tempo Do Samba’ is backed up on percussion by Pirulito, who in the 70s was a regular member of Jorge Ben’s legendary Banda Ze Pretinho. Nico Rezende is a famous Brazilian pianist who had major success in the 80s as did composer, songwriter and saxophonist Leo Gandelman who worked on the searing horn arrangements that punctuate the album. The two lead vocalists are Fabiola and Claudemir De Silva. Fabiola was one of the most famous Brazilian samba singers from the 70s to the 90s whilst newcomer Claudemir is both a poet and Sambista who, set to record his debut for Far Out later this year, is just now beginning to get recognition for his impressive talents.

Featuring seven vocal tracks including the 12” dancefloor monster ‘Afro Black’ and anthemic closing track ‘O Tempo’, ‘O Tempo Do Samba’ is undoubtedly Grupo Batuque’s most accessible album to date.  Whilst previous Grupo Batuque albums have often concentrated on the percussive rhythms, ‘O Tempo Do Samba’ resets the balance with a set of songs, that whilst keeping the percussion to the fore, form an album that will not only appeal to sambistas & percussionists but anyone who digs the beat from Brazil.

Share this Product

You may also like