Cart 0
Azymuth -  Aurora [2011]

Azymuth - Aurora [2011]


1. Aurora
2. In My Treehouse
3. Tá Nessa Ainda Bicho?
4. Issa É Partido Alto
5. Carnaval Legrand
6. Diz No Pé
7. Meu Mengô
8. Crazy Clock
9. Que Bom
10. É Mulher
11. In My Treehouse (Prelude 1)
12. In My Treehouse (Prelude 2)

The follow-up to 2008's 'Butterfly' draws on the sound that was so synonymous with their work in the 1980s, mixing disco, jazz, funk, psych, and samba with their super style, playing, and improvisation. Together with producer Daniel Maunick and David Brinkworth (Harmonic 313), Azymuth recorded Aurora in Rio de Janeiro over a two week period. Opening the set is the cool, fresh title track 'Aurora', which features Alex's daughter and fellow Far Out recording artist Sabrina Malheiros on vocals alongside Marcio Lott. 'In My Treehouse' is an extremely personal track written by Bertrami, which is influenced by his oak tree and dreams that recall his childhood playing in a tree house in his mother's hometown. 'Isso É Partido Alto' encapsulates the sound of Azymuth, the focus on their signature groove, partido alto (one of the oldest traditional samba rhythms). 'Diz No Pé' is a samba monster combining broken drumming with syncopated samba instrumentation, written by Ivan Conti. 'Carnaval Legrand' is dedicated to one of José Roberto Bertrami's peers -- the great Franco-Armenian arranger and composer Michel Legrand, while 'Meu Mengô' is inspired by Alex Malheiros' football team -- Flamengo -- another passion shared with his Azymuth band-mates.

Share this Product

You may also like