Cart 0
Azymuth - Partido Novo [2002]

Azymuth - Partido Novo [2002]


1. Em Marica
2. Partido Novo (Newly Broken)
3. Tempo Classico prelude (Classic Times)
4. Tempo Classico (Classic Times)
5. Rede de Espera (Waiting Web)
6. Nome Dele E Joan (His Name Is)
7. Meu Amigo (My Friend)
8. Duro de Roer (Hard To Bite)
9. Livre Como Um Passaro (Free As A Bird)
10. Saudade do Doutor (Still Missing Doutor)
11. Questao de Etica (Question of Etiquette)
12. Algadao Doce (Cottoncandy)

This delicious album from Rio’s finest, finds them in a reflective mood. Covering a range of styles, with jazzy interludes and soothing Bossa Novas giving way to 70s space-age funk and traditional Brazilian sambas.

Formed in Rio in the early 70s, Azymuth are: Jose Roberto Bertrami (keyboards), Alex Malheiros (bass and guitar) and Ivan Conti (drums and percussion). Their subtle mix of samba and jazz, and pioneering use of electric instruments led them to global recognition through a series of LPs on Milestone records in the 70s and 80s. These albums produced worldwide hits such as Jazz Carnival, Dear Limeritz and Papa Song. The band reformed in the 90s after persuasion from Brazilian music connossieur Joe Davis who signed them to Far Out Recordings. He gave their signature sound a new progressive edge. Bringing their music to a younger audience by encouraging work with innovative producers including 4Hero, Jazzanova, Kenny Dope, Kirk Degiorgio.

Partido Novo is their fifth album for Far Out and without doubt their best on the label. Still going strong they have added a special chilled touch along with plenty of gorgeous melodies and vocals. Partido Novo translates as broken or off- beat and accordingly tracks feature a dirtier, heavier sound with funky 70s soundtrack vibe as well as the usual samba magic with a mellow wistful summery twist.

Share this Product

You may also like