Cart 0
DJ Tudo - Pancada Motor Manifesto De Festa [2013]

DJ Tudo - Pancada Motor Manifesto De Festa [2013]


1. E Hoje Hoje
2. Traveler
3. Minha Querida Maezinha
4. Que Bela Macumba
5. Meu Natural
6. Sailors Love
7. Nega Vem Dancar
8. On The Bridge
9. Nico's Dream
10. Terra, Ceu E Sonho
11. Jaco's Comb
12. Patry's Jam


DJ Tudo aka Alfredo Bello is one of the leading researchers of Brazilian musical tradition. For over twenty years, he has worked as a musician, producer, DJ and ethnomusicologist and collaborated with artists including Lee Scratch Perry, Gilberto Gil, Adrian Sherwood, Marku Ribas, Mad Professor, Naná Vasconcelos, Otto and many others. In 2008 he started the DJ Tudo project with the release of his first album “Garrafada”. In 2010 he released his second album: ”Nos Quintais do Mundo”, in 2012 a DVD “Nos quintais do Mundo Melhor” and in 2014 his third album “Pancada Motor – Manifesto da Festa” was  recorded in diferents parts of the planet, mixed with the colaboration of Mad Professor, and released worldwide by Far Out Recordings. 

Pancada Motor is a term used amongst musicians of the Baiana, Samba de Matuto and Cambinda traditional rhythms of the North Eastern state of Alagoas, Brazil. Not only is Pancada Motor a name for the sound, it also highlights a paradigmatic outlook towards cultural activity, which holds local community, shared experience and tradition at its core. This traditional roots outlook works as DJ Tudo's musical and artistic foundation. But the album sees Tudo reconnect with his musical past. Having spent time soaking up Dub music in London, Tudo clearly picked up an ear for a certain type of sonic experimentation and the use of Dub FX. The album also administers an appropriate dose of psychedelia and spirituality, harking back to Tudo's experience of rave culture and jungle music in 90s London, while Dr. Das's big fuzzy bass lines emulate Tudo's teenage anarcho-punk days. 

The opening track 'É Hoje é hoje' is a great reflection of Tudo's unique sound: A big, funky experimental take on a very traditional roots based sound which is broadened further by a punchy brass section with a phased tenor sax solo with hints of a spiritual jazz influence. The album also draws heavily upon Brazil's rich African influenced sound of the North East. This is exemplified in tracks like 'Meu Natural', a fuzzy, roaring, psyched out Afro-Funk jam.  

The album is clearly a truly global project, both sonically and practically, It was recorded around the world "in little communities, beaches, friends’ houses and studios and edited on trains, boats, planes, hotel rooms, waiting rooms and other spaces."  During Tudo's live performances he uses sampled vocals collected throughout Brazil, which he uses alongside his eight-piece band Sua Gnete de Todo Lugar. Yet while Tudo's music is global in its sound and outlook, his belief in the importance of cultural identity, tradition and community give the album a very local Brazilian focus.

Share this Product

You may also like